New Jersey Synod Staff

Rev. Dean Brown

Rev. Dean Brown began in September 2019 as an Assistant to the Bishop.

Email:  dbrown@njsynod.org

Phone: 609-586-6800 ext 105

Assistant to the Bishop

Rev. Maristela Freiberg

Rev. Maristela Freiberg has served as Director for Evangelical Mission since October 2013. She works with mission and redevelopment congregations, as well as help congregations discover how God is working through them.

Email: maristela.freiberg@elca.org

Phone: 201-407-6000

Director for Evangelical Mission and Assistant to the Bishop

Rev. Kimberly Vaughn

Rev. Vaughn helps congregations connect their understanding of Christian discipleship and witness with God’s love for all people, so that they can find ways to include, reflect and celebrate the diversity of their surrounding communities.

Email: kvaughn@njsynod.org

Phone: 609-586-6800, ext. 117

Assistant to the Bishop

Rev. Sara Lilja

Rev. Sara Lilja has served as director since 2011. LEAMNJ partners with coalition partners around the state of New Jersey to advocate on issues related to hunger, housing, economic empowerment, immigration and community violence. In addition, Rev. Lilja can help congregations learn more about using their voice in the public square. 

Email: slilja@leamnj.org

Phone: 609-586-6800 x114

Lutheran Episcopal Advocacy Ministry of New Jersey, Director

LuAnn Barnes

LuAnn Barnes has served on the Synod Staff since January 2002, and is available if one needs to reach Bishop Tracie Bartholomew or for any Synod Council or Fund for Mission-related information and questions.

Email: lbarnes@njsynod.org

Phone: 609-586-6800 x119

Executive Administrative Assistant

Lois Parrett

Lois Parrett is our bookkeeper, and brings experience as an accountant.  She processes the finances of the synod, and is available to help out with any questions regarding Mission Support.

Email: lparrett@njsynod.org

Phone: 609-586-6800 x116

Director of Synod Operations and Accounting

Dawn Roberts

Dawn provides administrative support to the Assistants to the Bishop, the Director for Evangelical Mission, and the Director for LEAMNJ.  She is also editor of our weekly newsletter and website.  Dawn has been with the synod staff since 1997. 

Email: droberts@njsynod.org

Phone: 609-586-6800 x102

Administrative Assistant / Communications

Rev. Becky Resch

Rev. Becky Resch helps to manage and connect with those who are discerning calls to ministry. To find out more about the candidacy process, click here

Email: candidacy@njsynod.org

Candidacy Coordinator

Beth Peroni

Beth coordinates pulpit supply for our congregations in a pastoral vacancy.

Email:  supply@njsynod.org

Pastoral Supply Coordinator

Matt McDevitt

Matt McDevitt helps to manage the properties of synod owned buildings in the southern part of the Synod. 

Email: mjmcdevitt@comcast.net

Phone: 856-366-5083

Property Manager (South)

Bob Poole

Bob Poole helps to manage the properties of synod owned buildings in the northern part of the Synod. 

Email:rjpoole20@gmail.com

Phone: 732-241-8843

Property Manager (North)

Please reload

1930 State Highway 33

Hamilton Square, NJ 08690

609-586-6800

fax: 609-586-1597

© 2019 New Jersey Synod, All rights reserved.